Pitfield, Thomas B. There is 1 product.

Thomas Baron Pitfield (5 April 1903 – 11 November 1999) was a British composer, poet, artist, engraver, calligrapher, craftsman, furniture builder and teacher.

He was born in Bolton. Although he was essentially self-taught as a composer, he studied piano, cello and harmony at the Royal Manchester College of Music, where his teachers were Thomas Keighley, Frank Merrick and Carl Fuchs. Later he won a scholarship to study art and cabinet-making at the Boston School of Art.

His music was published by more than 50 publishers. Hubert J. Foss of the Oxford University Press published many of his compositions, illustrations, frontispieces and cover-designs, which he made for various publications, including the one for Benjamin Britten's Simple Symphony.

As a composer he was influenced by Ralph Vaughan Williams, Percy Grainger and Frederick Delius. He was a prolific composer and his compositions include collections of miniatures for students and amateurs, a five-movement Sinfonietta, a Trio for flute, oboe and piano, concertos for piano, violin, recorder and percussion, a Xylophone Sonata, an Oboe Sonata, and solo works for accordion, clarsach, and harmonica. He also invented an instrument called “patterphone” to produce rain-like sounds.

He continued to create art and music until his nineties.

He died in Bowdon, Greater Manchester, in 1999.

Showing 1 - 1 of 1 item
Showing 1 - 1 of 1 item